Jump to:navigation, search
Wiki










































DEP profiles for contactless setup configuration of Apple devices

Last adaptation to the version: 2.22

New:
  • Renaming of Apple Business Manager (ABM) to Apple Business
Last updated: 
notempty
This article refers to a Beta version
Access: portal.securepoint.cloud Mobile Security iOS/iPadOS DEP Profiles


Introduction

DEP profiles are used to transmit a configuration for the setup process to devices during initial commissioning or a factory reset.
Setting for:

  • Setup steps are predefined or skipped.
  • Determination of whether multi-user devices (shared iPads) are involved.
  • Determination of the device management (managed/unmanaged)



Prerequisite

  • These devices must be specifically dedicated to Apple's DEP.
    These devices can only be purchased directly from Apple or a DEP registered reseller .
    • The serial number of the devices will then be stored at Apple for DEP.
    • The devices can be shipped directly to the device user.
    • When initialising the device (initial start-up or factory reset), the MDM information and the configuration are loaded automatically.
  • Devices that are not factory-set for Apple's DEP must first be added once to the Apple Business or Apple School Manager with the help of the Apple Configurator. After being assigned to a DEP profile, these devices will then also receive the DEP profile during a reset.
  • Registration at Apple Business
    or at Apple School Manager
    This in turn requires a DUNS number. Granting and activation can take several days.
notempty
The devices must not be added to the reseller's Apple Business/Apple School Manager! Doing so would violate Apple's terms and conditions!
It is recommended that each end customer has their own Apple Business/Apple School Manager account and the devices are added there accordingly.
notempty
Note on DEP profiles without PIN from
  • For security reasons, enrollment will only be possible if a DEP profile with PIN has been assigned to all iOS/iPad devices
    • It is not necessary to re-enroll iOS/iPad devices that are already enrolled when the DEP profile is changed
  • DEP profiles without a PIN are marked with the label  Insecure - without PIN
  • All DEP profiles without PIN must then be deleted
  • Further information can be found in the Wiki article Settings Apple DEP

Overview

General Options

Search Filters the display
DEP Profiles
 Sort
Clicking this button opens a menu where tiles can be sorted according to specific criteria
Name Name
ID Internal ID
Ascending/Descending Displays the search results alphabetically ascending/descending
 Add profile A new DEP profile is added
Show details For a large number of profiles, it can help to hide the most important details for clarity
/ List view / Grid view Switch between list and grid view
Refresh Refresh the display

Tile options

This button at the top right of each profile tile provides the following options:
 Edit Edit settings
  Delete The profile is deleted

Procedure

notempty
New as of: 10.2026
notempty
If the device is put into operation temporarily without DEP, but without removing it from Apple Business Manager or Apple School Manager, the DEP profile assignment can be revoked before an internet connection is established
usually by entering the Wi-Fi password
(during enrolment or after resetting the device).

DEP Profiles

notempty
DEP profiles can not be changed
Apple does not provide any modification of DEP profiles once they have been saved.
If necessary, a new DEP profile must be created.
DEP profiles can now also be deleted
Apple itself still does not provide the deletion of DEP profiles. DEP profiles marked as deleted are therefore hidden in our portal.
Create profile with the  Add profile button
Settings for the configuration setup
Caption Value Description
Add profile
Name Name Profile name
Standard    If activated, the profile is used as the default profile.
If no standard profile exists and a device is not assigned to a profile, the standard setup is executed.
Supervised    If activated, new devices are registered as Supervised
Is MDM removable    If this option is deactivated, the user cannot remove the MDM payload supplied by the configuration URL via the device's user interface. This means that the MDM payload is bound to the device.
Multi user    When enabled, the device is instructed to be configured for Shared iPad
This key is only valid for Apple School Manager organisations using X Server Protocol version 2 and above
Devices that do not meet the minimum requirements for the released iPad do not implement this command
Mandatory    If activated, the user must not skip applying the profile returned by the MDM server
Skip setup elements
 0 / 49 items se­lect­ed
  • A list of the setup windows to be skipped
  • notempty
    New as of: 2.22
    Clicking the  Choose setup items button opens a dialogue box in which the elements can be selected
    • You can search for specific setup elements in the Search setup items input field
    • Using the  All buttons  Skipped  Shown you can filter the search
    • The  Select all button selects all items (except Location) and the  Deselect all button deselects all selected items
    • Clicking the  Save button saves the selection and closes the dialogue box
      Show screenshot
      hide
      Klicken für dauerhafte Anzeige
Show setup elements
hide
Klicken für dauerhafte Anzeige
Accessibility Skips Accessibility setup
Accessibility Appearance Skips Accessibility Appearance setup
Action Button Skips Action Button setup
Android Skips Android setup
Appearance Skips Appearance setup
Apple ID Skips Apple ID setup
AppStore Skips AppStore setup
Biometric Skips Biometric setup
Camera Button Skips Camera Button setup
Device Features Tour Skips Device Feature Tour
Device-to-Device Migration Skips Device To Device Migration setup
Diagnostics Skips Diagnostics setup
Display tone (Deprecated) Skips Display Tone setup
lockdown Mode Skips Lockdown Mode setup
Home Button Sensitivity (Deprecated in iOS 15) Skips HomeButton Sensitivity setup
iMessage and FaceTime Skips iMessage and FaceTime setup
Apple Intelligence Skips Apple Intelligence setup (Apple's Artifical Intelligence)
Keyboard Skips keyboard setp
Liquid Glass Skips Liquid Glass setup
Location Skips Location setup
  • Should not be skipped, otherwise the Cupertino time zone will be used.
  • iMessage Activation Skips iMessage setup
    Multitasking Skips Multitasking setup
    OnBoarding (Deprecated) Skips Onboarding
    Passcode Skips Passcode setup
    Apple Pay Skips Apple Pay setup
    Data protection Skips Privacy setup
    Restore Skips Restore setup
    Restore Completed Skips Restore Completed setup
    Safety Skips Safety setup
    Safety and Handling Skips Safety and Handling setup
    ScreenSaver (tvOS) Skips ScreenSaver setup
    ScreenTime Skips ScreenTime setup
    SIM Setup Skips SIM Setup setup
    Siri Disables Siri
    Software Updates Skips Software Update setup
    Spoken Language Skips Software Update setup
    Tap to Setup (tvOS) Skips the Tap To Set Up option in AppleTV about using an iOS device to set up your AppleTV.
    Terms of Address Skips Terms of Address setup
    Tips Skips Tips
    Terms and Conditions Skips TOS setup
    TV HomeScreenSync (tvOS) Skips TTV HomeScreenSync setup
    TV Provider SignIn (tvOS) Skips TV Provider SignIn setup
    TVRoom (tvOS) Skips TVRoom
    Unlock With Watch Skips Unlock with Apple Watch setup
    Update Completed Skips Update Completed setup
    Apple Watch Migration Skips the option to migrate data from an Apple Watch
    Web Content Filtering (Removed) Skips Web Content Filtering setup
    Welcome Skips Welcome pane
    Zoom (Deprecated) Skips Zoom setup
    Department Department Department or site name
    Support phone number Telephone number A support phone number for the organisation.
    Support email address E-Mail A support email address for the organisation.
    Organization Magic Magic key Uniquely identifies various services that are managed by a single organisation.
    Devices Add devices Devices assigned to the profile.
    This is the only field in which changes can still be made after saving.
    Apply and permanently set the details with the   Save button.
    Apple does not provide any modification of DEP profiles once they have been saved.
    If necessary, a new DEP profile must be created.